Beer Dip

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cookieee

Sous Chef
I have mentioned this dip a couple of times here and thought I would share the recipe. It is very simple and easy but very tasty.

Beer Dip

2 pkg. (8 oz. each) cream cheese, softened
1/3 beer or nonalcoholic beer
1 envelope ranch salad dressing mix
2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
Pretzels

In a large bowl, beat the cream cheese, beer and dressing mix until smooth. Stir in cheddar cheese. Serve with pretzels. Makes 3 1/2 cups

Source: Taste of Home 9/2018

I've been making that recipe for at least 20 years! [emoji38] It's really good. I've formed it into a football shape for Super Bowl parties, using extra cheese and bell pepper strips to decorate. I've also shaped it into a Christmas tree and decorated it with cheese and vegetables. It's fun to play around with.

When I was a kid a friend of mine's Grand Mother came to visit from Kentucky.
His Dad always had her making a trove of this beer cheese spread that she called "Nippy Cheese". I think it may be a corruption of the true Kentucky nippy cheese but either way it was good. So good I wiped out half a box of Ritz Crackers and put a respectable dent in that quart jar of the stuff she sent home with me. Good thing I did cause the next time I saw the jar it was clean, bottoms up, and in Mom's dish drainer in the kitchen sink.

It goes like this:

1 Cup of flat room temperature Beer. Whatever your taste in beer.

1 pound of cold Extra Sharp orange Cheddar Cheese. (She grated this on a Box Grater into a mixing bowl and went after it with an electric hand mixer)

1 tsp finely minced Garlic

1 tsp Dry Mustard (or more with these following)

1/2 tsp Black Pepper

1/2 to 1 tsp Cayenne Pepper

1/2 tsp + Salt

Hot Sauce a shake

Worcestershire sauce a shake