Thai Style Sauce

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kfarrell

Assistant Cook
Here's something I've been working on, pour it over a fried piece of fish, I like it with salmon.

It's not exactly where I want it yet, seems a little to sour, but I don't want to add sugar. Would palm sugar help this dish? Any recomendations would be welcome.

Please try it, it's quite a nice sauce and compliments fish nicely, especially white fish. But like I saide, on a thick salmos steak it's delicious.

This is my first time writing a recipe so be kind :cool:

Thai Style Sauce

Juice of 4 limes
1/4 Cup Water
1 cm Grated Ginger
[edited] 1 Cup chopped Corriander Leaves
1 Chili Finely Chopped, seeds removed
1 teaspoon cornflour
1 tbsp extra water

Add lime juice and water to a pot on low to medium heat
Add Ginger, Chili, Corriander and bring to a gentle simmer slowly.
Season with salt and pepper as required. Beware, chili adds spice to this sauce, so not much pepper is required.

Mix cornflour and extra water in a container, mix well and add to pot.
Mix vigourously until thick.

Pour over a seared fillet of fish.

Last edited:
A delicious new idea, especially for a grilled fish!! Do you mean coriander seeds, or coriander leaves here?

kfarrell said:
It's not exactly where I want it yet, seems a little to sour, but I don't want to add sugar. Would palm sugar help this dish? Any recomendations would be welcome.

With its creamy, caramel-like sweetness, palm sugar would probably work just fine, and would be an authentic addition as well. Another thing you could try is replacing the water with sweetened coconut milk. However, before adding sugar of any type, I might try Thai basil, or even finely minced carrots. All of these sweeten, and none would be out of place in a Thai dish.

Your recipe sounds delicious.

Kelly