Why is my bolognese sauce no good?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Richard Cavell

Assistant Cook
Hi, everyone.

I'm a complete novice at cooking. I'm trying to make bolognese sauce but it's not working. For simplicity I am using only minced beef and tomato paste until I get that part right.

I put a tablespoon of rapeseed oil into a saucepan, and then put 300g mince into a frypan on medium-high heat, and moosh it with my tongs and stir it occasionally until it turns brown (takes a few minutes). I then pour tomato paste in and stir it until the mince is coated in the tomato paste. I then put it onto the lowest heat setting and leave it covered for an hour. Here's a video and pic of what it looks like after half an hour. The meat has not broken up and it doesn't smell right. What am I missing?

sharedalbum

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
Hi Richard, and welcome to Discuss Cooking. There's no way you'll ever get anything worth eating with a can of tomato paste and some minced meat. Are you opposed to following a simple recipe?

I fusili, oh so sili. I fusili and nilly and gay!

Fusilli Bolognese​

Ingredients:

½ lb ground beef
¼ lb ground pork
¼ lb ground veal
¼ lb bacon, chopped
½ cup onion, chopped
¼ cup celery, chopped
¼ cup carrot, grated
2 tsp garlic, minced
4 Tbs butter
3 Tbs light tasting olive oil
10½ oz can beef consommé
1 cup dry white wine
28 oz can crushed tomatoes in puree
1 tsp salt
½ tsp black pepper
1 tsp rubbed sage
1 Tbs oregano
½ tsp red pepper flakes
1 cup milk
1 lb fusilli
Parmigiano Reggiano for garnishing

Instructions:

In a Dutch oven, heat the butter over medium heat until it melts, then add the olive oil and heat until shimmering. Add the onion, celery, carrot, garlic, and bacon and sauté them until the onions are translucent, but not browned.