Cooking essentials...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pmawson

Assistant Cook
I know there are probably a hundred and one posts asking this but I thought I would see what the view is of people!

I am new to cooking and initially bought everything on a very tight budget and bought for 'convenience' more than quality...

Now I am looking to improve my cooking, I am wondering what everyone sees as their 'cooking essentials'

What couldn't you live without in your kitchen?
What is the best things to buy to create better dishes in the kitchen?
And just any gadgets in general!

Thanks

~ Paul

For us, that question has no easy answer. As we expand into different cuisines, our essentials expand. This is like the "pantry", condiment questions. There isn't a final, conclusive answer!:ROFLMAO:

I like my food processor, spice grinder (don't use it for coffee), Liddle Griddle, slow cookers, toaster oven, a few sharp knives, and an immersion blender.

However, when I went to college, I had the most miserable beat-up set of pots and pans, some very dull knives, and managed to make do.

Last edited:
...What couldn't you live without in your kitchen?
What is the best things to buy to create better dishes in the kitchen?
And just any gadgets in general!

Thanks

~ Paul

First and foremost is your desire to be better and your commitment to learn. Learn your craft as well as you can. You create great dishes, your equipment doesn't.

That said, good ingredients and tools do help the process.

As you cook, you will build a pantry of ingredients you like and use regularly. (Don't ask us what you should have in your pantry, what you cook determines that.)

As far as equipment, a few good quality knives, pieces of cookware make life easier. Quality tools (not necessarily expensive tools) do make life easier.