Folding Chopping Board - Is this something you'd be interested in?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DVLPacheco

Assistant Cook
Hi guys!

First time poster here and excited to be here. Full disclaimer: I checked if this was allowed with a mod first and she said it was ok as long as I didn't post any links (which is easy, I don't even have a website so having nothing to link to!)

Basically, I’m a student in my final year of my business degree and one of my units involves going through the process of creating a business from start to finish. Part of this involves thinking of a product idea, and then validating it to make sure it’s something people actually would want before moving to the next stage of actually building it.

The product idea I had is a folding chopping board. Similar to the Chop2Pot from Joseph and Joseph which some of you might be familiar with or even have (I've attached an image of it, no links). They make a bamboo version which I use all the time since I hate chopping vegetables and having them fall off the board when trying to put them in the pan.

There were a few problems with the plastic one - one, obviously it's plastic, it doesn't fold up properly or lay flat after a while, some people found the handle would snap off after a while. The bamboo version I own doesn't have a handle and doesn't fold up to store. And it's is a bit small (even the big version)

So I thought, improving on this would be a good idea since it's something I already have and love. The idea is a bamboo cutting board which folds up for easy storage, has a handle which doesn't snap off and is fairly sizable (since I always find mine is not big enough!). I found a supplier that makes something very similar to what I would want (I've attached pictures showing what it looks like, no links since I am not advertising).

So I wanted to ask you guys: