Need Cookware Advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

chitra67

Assistant Cook
I am a housewife and always cook at home.I want yr advice regarding cooking utensils.I make curries,stir fries,sautees etc.I want to know which is the best pan for cooking.I like to use a wok.At present I am using a non-stick pan for shallow fries, sometimes aluminium wok for shallow fries and making curries.I avoid making anything acidic in aluminuim.Even if I make,I quickly transfer it to a steel dish.could U tell me which is the best material for cooking? non-stick or enamel coated cast iron wok.I haven't yet purchased a enamel coated cast iron wok but I guess,it is pretty heavy.I am a thin person,so it may be heavy for me.I am confused and will be very happy if U could advise me abt the best material for cooking,which is not toxic but safe for cooking.

Is non-stick the best? if it is,then is it safe? and need we change it often.Pls feel free to post yr opinion.

First, "Hi," chitra67. Welcome to DC. We're glad you have found us.

I don't have the answer to your question, but there are many knowledgeable members who certainly can help you. Just be patient and the answers will come.

Stay and enjoy everything we have to share.:):)

I wish I could help too. I have a set of hard anodized aluminum but would love to switch to stainless steel, however, that would cause a divorce!

Frankly, the cast iron wok sounds like it would be a good choice. Then maybe you could get a stainless steel saute pan.

It really sounds like you have the things you like to cook with already though. If you toss your wok to stir your food you won't be doing that with a cast iron one :rolleyes:

When you say "shallow fries" are you referring to filling it with oil and deep frying? I wouldn't fry like that in a non-stick pan. I would reserve that kind of frying for stainless steel or hard anodized aluminum.