Silicone tools and oil?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dirk101

Assistant Cook
I recently acquired a high heat resistant silicone spatula to use mainly when cooking creams, cakes, various doughs and so on. Having said that, I was wondering if I could use silicone tools to cook in oil, since I have no experience with this. My main concern would be for the oil to stick to the silicone in some form that is hard to clean off.

with some detergent you should get it cleaned off... my concern would be that the silicone isn't that heat resistant it should when dipped in hot oil...?

Wich country do you come from? That's not to private, believe me ;o)
*wavingaroundsoImayhavetherightdirection*
I'm always pleased to find a fellow European here ,o)

Silicone is very slippery. The oil should not stick to it any more than a metal spatula and hot water would rinse it off. And they are typically rated to 500F, so no worries there either.

Use the silicone. You won't have a problem. It's the only kind of spat you should use in a hot pan. Save the others for scraping batter out of bowls.

The only thing I watch out for is if they have a wooded handle, you must pull it apart to clean it. You'll be surprised how much unwanted gunk develops. It is a bacteria nest!
All wood should be bleached clean and dried immediately to prevent warping and swelling.

Last edited:
I found one piece all silicone spats and bought three. That joint where the blade meets the handle is a problem area so I'm happy I don't have to deal with it.

Looks like this:

Attachments

• images.jpg
    images.jpg
    3.1 KB · Views: 751
I found one piece all silicone spats and bought three. That joint where the blade meets the handle is a problem area so I'm happy I don't have to deal with it.

Looks like this: