Uses for Chutney

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mkaylady

Senior Cook
I just bought a set with two jars of chutney. One is Date and Fig Chutney and the other is Mediterranean Chutney with Flame Grilled Peppers. I have never used chutney at home. Besides eating it in a restaurant I have no experience with pairing it with food. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what to serve these two chutneys with?

I just bought a set with two jars of chutney. One is Date and Fig Chutney and the other is Mediterranean Chutney with Flame Grilled Peppers. I have never used chutney at home. Besides eating it in a restaurant I have no experience with pairing it with food. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what to serve these two chutneys with?
The date and fig will be splendid with very strong hard cheese like Paski Sir, Cheddar, Manchego and Parm and a glass of gutsy red wine like a Rioja Alta, if the pepper chutney is spicy like Ajvar, burgers, kebabs or any grilled meat the drink has to be beer.
Life without Ajvar is life without freedom;)
My bramley apple chutney is unique because I use Cox's:)

I use it with cream cheese, also, but am lazy and just pour it over. But I've also added vinegar and oil and made salad dressings, or to soy-based marinades. This is so simple when you're toward the bottom of the jar. Just add oil & vinegar (for the former) or soy sauce (for the latter), shake, et voila!

I used to make a cranberry chutney before I started making cranberry salsa as the side for turkey. I probably still have the recipe somewhere...I know it was most likely from Bon Appetit or Gourmet, modified.

I usually pair it with cheese. Sometimes I add a splodge of tomato relish to guacamole.