"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Appliances
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2014, 09:08 PM   #1
Sous Chef
 
kitchengoddess8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 904
Food processor recommendation?

I'm looking for a decent food processor and would like some recommendations. I currently have a KitchenAid 3.5 cup but it's too small for scones and cookies. I don't need the highest end product but something that is good quality. It would be great if I could also use it to replace my blender which I rarely use. For shakes I use my Nutribullet.

__________________

kitchengoddess8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 09:24 PM   #2
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 46,088
I've had a Cuisinart for a dozen years and it works great. Generally, Cuisinart and Kitchen Aid FP are the best of the bunch. If you have a LOT of money, a Robo Coupe.
__________________

__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 09:27 PM   #3
Sous Chef
 
kitchengoddess8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 904
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy M. View Post
I've had a Cuisinart for a dozen years and it works great. Generally, Cuisinart and Kitchen Aid FP are the best of the bunch. If you have a LOT of money, a Robo Coupe.
Which Cuisinart model do you have?
kitchengoddess8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 09:37 PM   #4
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Katie H's Avatar
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: I live in the Heartland of the United States - Western Kentucky
Posts: 15,944
I bought my first food processor in 1978, Cuisinart, and used it (a lot and regularly) until last Christmas, which is when Glenn gave me a brand new one as my big Santa gift. This means my trusty old machine was 35 years old when it went to live with another family.

There was nothing wrong the my old one but I wanted a little more versatility and the new one definitely offers that. There are three prep bowls in graduating sizes, along with all the cutting blades.

I have never had any issues with my Cuisinart machines and am just as happy with my new one as I was with the first one.

I highly recommend Cuisinart. I chose the 14-cup Elite model in die cast because I wanted something durable and of ample capacity. Here's an Amazon link to what I have.
__________________
"As a girl I had zero interest in the stove." - Julia Child
This is real inspiration. Look what Julia became!
Katie H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 09:46 PM   #5
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 46,088
As I said it's really old. It's an 11 cup model with an assortment of blades.

It's this one. White 11-c. Classic Series Pro Custom 11 Food Processor by Cuisinart at Cooking.com
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 10:04 PM   #6
Sous Chef
 
kitchengoddess8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 904
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy M. View Post
As I said it's really old. It's an 11 cup model with an assortment of blades.

It's this one. White 11-c. Classic Series Pro Custom 11 Food Processor by Cuisinart at Cooking.com
Did it come with small bowls to,process smaller amounts of food? I'm trying to figure out how to make my 3.5 cup processor not necessary.
kitchengoddess8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 10:09 PM   #7
Sous Chef
 
kitchengoddess8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 904
Can a food processor replace a blender?
kitchengoddess8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 10:15 PM   #8
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Dawgluver's Avatar
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 24,998
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitchengoddess8 View Post
Can a food processor replace a blender?

Not in my world. They're two different animals. My little Kitchenaid FP does a great job with chopping stuff, but for smoothies and liquifying, you need a blender. The blender seal is tight against liquids, my FP is not.
__________________
She who dies with the most toys, wins.
Dawgluver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 10:16 PM   #9
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Katie H's Avatar
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: I live in the Heartland of the United States - Western Kentucky
Posts: 15,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitchengoddess8 View Post
Can a food processor replace a blender?
Mine has, particularly with the variety of blades my food processor has. I rarely use my blender, which I bought in 1968.
__________________
"As a girl I had zero interest in the stove." - Julia Child
This is real inspiration. Look what Julia became!
Katie H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 10:17 PM   #10
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Katie H's Avatar
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: I live in the Heartland of the United States - Western Kentucky
Posts: 15,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawgluver View Post
Not in my world. They're two different animals. My little Kitchenaid FP does a great job with chopping stuff, but for smoothies and liquifying, you need a blender. The blender seal is tight against liquids, my FP is not.

That's not been an issue with my new Cuisinart because there is a snug rubber gasket that is inside the lid/top of the machine.
__________________
"As a girl I had zero interest in the stove." - Julia Child
This is real inspiration. Look what Julia became!
Katie H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 10:18 PM   #11
Sous Chef
 
kitchengoddess8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 904
Quote:
Originally Posted by Katie H View Post
Mine has, particularly with the variety of blades my food processor has. I rarely use my blender, which I bought in 1968.

That's good to hear. For shakes my Nutribullet does fine. I really don't want to spend the money for a Vitamix.
kitchengoddess8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 11:24 PM   #12
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Addie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: East Boston, MA
Posts: 22,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy M. View Post
I've had a Cuisinart for a dozen years and it works great. Generally, Cuisinart and Kitchen Aid FP are the best of the bunch. If you have a LOT of money, a Robo Coupe.
I have a Robot Coupe. It has to be more than forty years old. I have had it for thirty five years now. The plug doesn't even have the wide blade and the cord is covered with rubber. I got it many years ago from a woman who had a house fire. When she was cleaning out she asked me if I wanted it. (She wanted an excuse to get a new one.) I took it gladly. For free? You bet. I have all the blades and fixtures. And it is still going strong. Sure it would be nice to have a bigger one. But I have fallen in love with this one. The motor is a workhorse. It handles dough as if it was just water. When I tell folks I have a Robot Coupe, they look at me as if I am lying just to impress them. They are really expensive. But the new ones are well worth the money.
__________________
Illegitimi non carborundum!
I don't want my last words to be, "I wish I had spent more time doing housework"
Addie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 11:31 PM   #13
Sous Chef
 
kitchengoddess8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 904
Quote:
Originally Posted by Addie View Post
I have a Robot Coupe. It has to be more than forty years old. I have had it for thirty five years now. The plug doesn't even have the wide blade and the cord is covered with rubber. I got it many years ago from a woman who had a house fire. When she was cleaning out she asked me if I wanted it. (She wanted an excuse to get a new one.) I took it gladly. For free? You bet. I have all the blades and fixtures. And it is still going strong. Sure it would be nice to have a bigger one. But I have fallen in love with this one. The motor is a workhorse. It handles dough as if it was just water. When I tell folks I have a Robot Coupe, they look at me as if I am lying just to impress them. They are really expensive. But the new ones are well worth the money.

What great luck! The new ones are super pricey!
kitchengoddess8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 11:37 PM   #14
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Addie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: East Boston, MA
Posts: 22,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitchengoddess8 View Post
What great luck! The new ones are super pricey!
I also got a Hamilton Beach drink mixer. I gave that to my son-in-law. And that is still running also along with the hand mixer that my niece took. With the insurance money that the woman got, she planned on refitting her kitchen with all new equipment. I was very happy to assist her.
__________________
Illegitimi non carborundum!
I don't want my last words to be, "I wish I had spent more time doing housework"
Addie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 07:30 PM   #15
Master Chef
 
CharlieD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA,Minnesota
Posts: 9,440
If you sign up for e-mail with Bed, Bath & Beyond, you get 20 bucks, or 20% off (can't remember right now) with that coupon you cannot find a better machine and deal than this one:

Cuisinart® Custom 14-Cup Food Processor - BedBathandBeyond.com
__________________
You are what you eat.
CharlieD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 07:46 PM   #16
Executive Chef
 
bakechef's Avatar
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,127
I have the Cuisinart 11 cup classic and it's a massive upgrade from my old Black and Decker, the Black and Decker did the job, but wasn't powerful enough to work dough, or run for a long time without overheating the motor, and it was loud.

The Cuisinart with the induction motor is really quiet and very powerful. It's a bit pricey, but the quality is there.
__________________
I'm Bloggin'

https://bakingbetter.com
bakechef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 08:20 PM   #17
Sous Chef
 
kitchengoddess8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 904
Thanks for your recommendations, everyone! I'm confused about what size food processor I need. I see that Cuisinart makes a 9, 11, and 14 cup. Any suggestions on how to choose?
kitchengoddess8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 08:32 PM   #18
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 46,088
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitchengoddess8 View Post
Thanks for your recommendations, everyone! I'm confused about what size food processor I need. I see that Cuisinart makes a 9, 11, and 14 cup. Any suggestions on how to choose?

Any of those sizes are big enough to handle normal recipe amounts. If you tend to make larger quantities, go for the 14 cup. Otherwise, the 9 cup is a good compromise.

Check for sales (Christmas is coming) and buy what's on sale.
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 08:47 PM   #19
Sous Chef
 
kitchengoddess8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 904
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy M. View Post
Any of those sizes are big enough to handle normal recipe amounts. If you tend to make larger quantities, go for the 14 cup. Otherwise, the 9 cup is a good compromise.

Check for sales (Christmas is coming) and buy what's on sale.
Thanks Andy. I like that approach because it's economical, and if I find I need a bigger machine I can always upgrade later. I'm a newbie so don't want to spend tons of money for something I won't use.
kitchengoddess8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 08:49 PM   #20
Sous Chef
 
kitchengoddess8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 904
Will the Cusinart 9 cup work for the small quantity I would use for the 3.5 cup? The 9 cup doesn't come with a smaller bowl attachment.
__________________

kitchengoddess8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
×