KA Mixer

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mi77915

Assistant Cook
Hi,

I am fairly new to baking and I am in the market for a stand mixer. I have been doing a lot of research on the subject and have pretty much decided that the KA mixer is the one to get.

I am a single father on a budget trying to raise (2) teenagers alone. No family around to help, just me. I have been looking on eBay to see if I could find some deals there. I have come across a couple that look good, but would like your opinions.

There is a brand new, still in the box 250 watt model that is ending soon with not many bids on it.
The others are 325 - 450 watt refurbished models.

Obviously, the higher the wattage, the more powerful the unit is. My question is this: I only plan on baking a few times a month, not daily. Would the lower wattage machines be okay for an occasional baker?

Hey Tom. I had posted here http://www.discusscooking.com/forums/f84/sunbeam-mixer-w-meat-grinder-help-53426.html

about a vintage mixer I picked up on a whim. Since then i looked a a couple of new ones and they dont seem to be built as well. I have seen alot of somewhat vintage ones on ebay that are in much better shape than mine that are priced lower than new plasticky ones.

On the Mixer I will say they are cool I never thought about buying one because i am not a baker really but I love the thing.

IMHO for occassional use you should be fine with a lower wattage model.... again I am not a baker really so hopefully someone will have more on that. The stand mixer in general is a great tool though you will enjoy it.