Preheating a microwave convection oven?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Learning2Cook

Assistant Cook
Hello everybody!

Bear with me if I ask silly questions...I am new to the world of cooking as well as baking! :)

Anyway, here is my question:

My mum had this microwave convection for over 10 years I guess and used mainly to reheat food and to grill. I would love to know how to bake in it instead of going out and spending money on another oven.

Most of the dishes that I want to make asks for preheating the oven and I have absolutely no idea how to do it in the microwave.
Yes, I googled it a bit and found that microwaves do not need to be preheated but I guess they are referring to some old microwaves. I heard that the new microwave ovens start acting like conventional ovens when you choose a certain option.

In my microwave,there are 4 options to choose from:
1) Combination
2) Convection
3) Grill
4) Micro Power

In addition, it also give the option to choose the temperature, weight and time.

So I guess there is a way around and I would really appreciate it if someone could explain me.

Thanks for reading so far! :D

PS - Another little question I had was about substituting baking soda with baking powder. So my research tells me that for every teaspoon of baking soda, I should use 2-3 times more baking powder but what if my recipe calls for both baking soda and baking powder?

No microwave of any kind or age needs to be pre-heated.

A convection oven is is a regular oven with a fan to distribute heat more evenly. A convection oven should be pre-heated. There is no need to turn on the microwave function of a combo oven while pre-heating the convection oven.

Last edited:
Do you have a screen shot of the doc, so that those with no Google/google.doc account can see?

Without seeing the doc, I agree with Andy, 110%

Here you go!