Cooking for dummies

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dispute

Assistant Cook
Hi Everyone,

I am both new to this forum and new to cooking but a have a real keen passion to get in there and learn as much as possible.

I am just wondering if their is any good books out their that teach you the basics like how to saute', proper cutting techniques, blanching and so forth. Appologies if I am not making sense. It's hard to express exactly what I am looking for.

Hope someone can help. Cheers :)

I'm surprised no one has answered you yet....welcome to the forum!

I'm not an expert, but I have heard the following books recommended:

La Technique - Jacques Pepin
Essentials of Cooking - James Peterson
The Best Recipe - Cook's Illustrated

I personally like anything published by Cook's Illustrated. They test recipes, say for fried chicken, and come up with the best recipe. yes, it is their version of best, but so far, I have always liked the end result. What I like about them, is they tell you why something worked, and why something didn't work prior to giving you the recipe. They also have a website and a magazine that give cooking pointers.

KathyJ said:
Cook's Illustrated

My brother gave me a years subscription to bon apetit and I got my MIL a years subscription to Rachel Ray. As much as they are good and enjoyable, after a year I personally wouldn't want to re-order.

This Cook's Illustrated one looks very interesting. I'm looking at there site now. thanks!

dispute said:
Hi Everyone,

I am both new to this forum and new to cooking but a have a real keen passion to get in there and learn as much as possible.

I am just wondering if their is any good books out their that teach you the basics like how to saute', proper cutting techniques, blanching and so forth. Appologies if I am not making sense. It's hard to express exactly what I am looking for.