ISO Good Baking book

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hirokei

Assistant Cook
good illustrated baking book

hi everyone! i'm a beginner in baking, and would like to buy a good baking book. i read u guys' old posts about.. kingarthur, Rose Levy Beranbaum, etc etc. i checked those books out at the store but.. there arent enough pictures in them!! im the type of person that.. just NEED colors and pictures. i saw a few that had a lot of pretty pictures and a lot of good recipes, but i dont know how good they are tho

Good Housekeeping Illustrated Book of Desserts (this one had tons of pics)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0688103561/104-5198768-0239127?v=glance&n=283155&s=books&v=glance

Joy of Cooking: All About Pies and Tarts
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/074322518X/104-5198768-0239127?v=glance&n=283155&v=glance

i'm also wondering.. how good are william sonoma's dessert books?! for some reason i seem to really like his books haha. i really really need to buy a muffin book because everyone around me just LOVE muffins (who doesn't tho :-p ) and i'm thinking about buying william sonoma's muffin book.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0743253965/104-5198768-0239127?v=glance&n=283155&s=books&v=glance

does anyone know anything about this book? is it good? bad?

what's one really really good book w/ lots of good muffin recipes in it! please suggest

oh my gosh. thank you everyone in advance for the help. have a great day!!!!

Last edited:
I really love the Weekend Baker by Abigail Johnson.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0393058832/104-6956424-5787141?v=glance&n=283155&n=507846&s=books&v=glance