Magazines?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Alix

Everymom
Moderator Emeritus
Ok, I know this has likely been asked and answered a jillion times. Forgive me. Does anyone here subscribe to Fine Cooking magazine? I just got one from a friend and quite enjoy it. I am however a little cheesed off that to access their website I have to sign up to pay for the service after a 14 day free trial. Does anyone pay for this and is it worth it?

I've never subscribed to the magazine, but I've seen it and was impressed with it. For many years, Buck subscribed to Fine Woodworking, which is produced by the same folks (Taunton Press) and was 100% impressed/happy with it. Thorough, great photos, etc.

I have no experience with any of Fine Cooking's Internet offerings. Do know the magazine has been around for many, many years. Hope you get some good advice/information.

I did the 14 day free trial, IMHO it was not worth it and I cancelled. Normally I tend to go for paperless services or online versions of magazines to cut down on clutter in my house (and the use of trees!), but in this case go with the magazine and forget the web site.

Not Subscribed

But I have a recent copy at home, has the several fish recipes (touted as easy to make - on a weeknight no less). :)

I won't subscribe to it - did enough of that in the past with Food & Wine and Saveur. Cooks Illustrated might be the only one I would now consider - it's mostly ad-free. :chef:

I subscribe to two food magazines: Cooking Light and Health & Nutrition. I don't remember subscribing to Health & Nutrition, but I've been getting it every month for several months now, and I don't drink, so it is possible someone subscribed for me.