Cast Iron Restoration Seasoning Project

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

PanchoHambre

Washing Up
There have been a couple of threads about CI cookware and talk of smoothe vs machined, Griswold Vs Wagner Vs Lodge discussions of the quality and questions about seanoning so I thought I would share my latest CI Project both to get some input and to illustrate some of these issues. I am not an expert or a real collector I just really like the old iron cookware and think it is terribly underappreciated/utilized

I am currently restoring 3 skillets. 2 are "unmarked" #8 (10.5") skillets I picked up at a fleamarket. The other is my xmas gift to myself a Griswold #12 (13.5")

I will start with the #8s because they illustrate the most. At first glance they are very similar both the same size/style with 2 spouts and a heat ring. Neither has a real "Makers Mark" to help identify origin or age. The following pic are taken after the initial cleaning when the differences came to light.

The first is marked only with a "Z"

The second is marked "Made in USA"

Despite thier similar appearence at closer inspection they are very different in quality.

First the Z skillet:

This skillet was covered in a nasty black crust that was once seasoning. It had a touch of rust. Once cleaned up it showed itself to be a nice skillet.The inside is machined smoothe... smoothe as my Grizwold and the skillet at 5lbs outweighs my Grizwold #8 by a pound

Now for the USA skillet

The USA skillet appeared quite similar. Unlike the Z though it did not have alot of grime just a bit of rusting... this should have been my first clue.

The inside is roug and uneven. It was not machined after being removed from the mold. This is not "pitting" from age this is the original casting

and then theres this...

Ok Katie I think I fixed it