Is it possible to buy Non Non-Stick Cookware & how to tell?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

IanR

Assistant Cook
Hi,

I'm relatively new to this & wondered if anyone could give me some general advice on cookware.

I've read of the problems of Teflon/PTFE coated cookware so had a look in stores and online for alternatives. Neglecting cast iron and copper, the two main pan metals are aluminium and stainless steel.

On internet blogs / forums, people seem to assume Aluminium pans will be coated with Teflon / some form of coating whereas Stainless Steel will not be coated. However, I've seen quite a few stainless steel pans advertised as "non-stick" - does this mean they have some form of PTFE coating or is the material naturally non-stick?

I've also read about other non-stick technologies without the need for a potentially unhealthy coating such as anodising aluminium (although confusingly, sometimes these seem to be given additional Teflon or even enamel coatings) and another idea seems to be surface texturing to trap oil under food.

Anyway, I just wondered what some of the more experienced cooks thought and if anyone had any comments / pointers on choosing cookware.

Thanks

I don't share your fear of non-stick cookware, but stainless is a very good option. I recommend tri-ply or multi-ply SS.

Well-seasoned cast iron cookware is essentially non-stick. There is cookware being manufactured with an environmentally friendly non-stick coating called Eco-logic by BEKA. It's available on Amazon.com and, well, it appears Amazon is the only available outlet.

If you care to search this forum, we had quite few discussions about that very subject.
Otherwise I am on the same page as Andy.

I'd recommend you do a bit a research past the country fair / late night TV hawkers.