Is my cast iron rusting?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bubbler33

Assistant Cook
I'm totally new to cooking with cast iron. When I got my first pan I seasoned it properly in the oven at about 350 with lard. However, I've been cooking hamburgers on it recently. I usually cook the burgers in the middle of the pan. After cooking they leave brown looking residue on the pan in the spot they were cooking and I usually scrape it off and sometimes scrub with a sponge or paper towel. Even after all that scrubbing (even scrubbing with salt and oil) you can still tell something was cooked right there because it seems to be a little brown. Well, I ignored it and just re-seasoned it in the oven a couple times. Now that spot and some area surrounding it is a dark reddish brown. Is this rust? It feels normal compared to other parts of the pan

It's food residue from the burgers. After you cook the burgers, put a little hot tap water in the pan while it's hot and still on the burner. Use a wood spatula or similar to scrape the bottom as the water boils in the pan. That will lift off any cooking residue. Then empty the pan, dry it on the burner and wipe it with a small amount of cooking oil and a paper towel and leave it to cool.

Since you have cooked and re-seasoned the pan several times since the residue was deposited, you should now strip off all the seasoning and start over.

The simplest and easiest way is to put the pan into a super hot gas or charcoal grill going full blast and let the seasoning burn off. The wipe it clean with a clean towel, apply vegetable shortening and bake at 350 for an hour. leave it in the oven to cool.

Is it absolutely necessary to remove the seasoning and clean off the residue or is it possible that the residue will deteriorate itself? Also, is there any other way to remove seasoning as I do not have a coal or gas grill at the moment.