ISO advice w/some new cookware..............

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bobalooey

Assistant Cook
noob here.

hi everyone!
have a question on use of cookware. approximately a year ago, i purchased some 'Rachel Ray' cookware. not long after that, i cooked some of those frozen chicken breasts you find in the freezer section of the market in the one fry pan. ever since then, everything sticks to the pan. :mad:

i figure it had to be something in the chicken breasts that has had an effect on the pan surface. they were great until then!

just wonder if anyone had any comments?

thanks

Are these nonstick or stainless?

If nonstick you might have done something to damage the coating.

If stainless I can't see how a chicken breast would cause an issue unless you failed to clean the pan, which I am thinking is doubtful.

sorry 'bout that FrankZ---they are nonstick.

guess i was just curious if anyone had heard of such a thing. i enjoyed the pan till that happened. i am 99% sure it had to be the chicken breasts that damaged the pan. sure makes me wonder what the heck is in those chicken breasts. altho, i am no chemist, so, maybe it's something "natural"---but, i highly doubt it. btw, the George Foreman grill (nonstick) has the same problem now.

I can't imagine a scenario where chicken destroys a pan's nonstick coating. A more likely explanation is that the nonstick coating is defective.

Heating the pan to too high a temp could damage the coating but that doesn't explain the GF.

Did you wash the nonstick pan, or GF grill plates (assuming they are removeable), in the dishwasher at some point after cooking those chicken breasts?

Did you wash the nonstick pan, or GF grill plates (assuming they are removeable), in the dishwasher at some point after cooking those chicken breasts?

no, handwash the pans and grill---using Dawn dishsoap.