ISO INDOOR recipes for my "French" Dutch Oven (threads merged)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

boisenewbie

Assistant Cook
I am new here and I did do a search ... but I still can't seem to find what I am looking for.

(I did see that someone asked a similar question - but they were told to look in the DO forum. Well, that doesn't help since that is for outdoor DO's!)

I Googled, I Yahooed, I even Asked Jeeves ... I don't get it! Everyone is talking about their LeCreuset but when you try to find a simple recipe it is all about the campfire!:wacko:

I purchased a gorgeous 6QT Lodge (Blue enamel cast iron) for $39.99 at Amazon:chef: ... Now I'm just not sure what to do with it (besides bake bread)

I am a great cook - I just never used a dutch oven before.

[Edit: merged duplicate threads]

Last edited by a moderator:
First welcome to DC..Glad to have you join us..You can ask your question in our DO area, even though it says outdoors, anyone of our members would gladly help you..I just got a lodge pre seasoned DO about two weeks ago and the first thing I made was some pasta sauce, then I did a stew and am planning to do some baked beans next week.. The possiblilities are endless.
Kadesma

I was told I should post here even if this seems like an outdoor cooking forum.

I just bought a Lodge Enameled Cast-Iron oven (It is now $39.99 for a 6Qt - any color!!!) ... I was calling it a "Dutch" Oven because that is the common name. You see it called that 99.9% of the time -but I did read somewhere that it is technically called a French oven ... I see from reading some posts that calling it a Dutch Oven and not French is as irritating to some people as is calling English Tea-time "High Tea" (when really they mean "Afternoon Tea") is to me. So I vow never to call it a Dutch Oven again!:D