"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Cookware
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2006, 03:40 AM   #1
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Essex, England
Posts: 125
Kitchen Aid

There must be an answer to this.
On my Kitchen Aid there is a stainless steel rod between the top and bottom half of the the mixer that keeps coming loose. I have to keep inverting the machine and tightening the screw that holds it in place.
What can I do to prevent this from happening?

__________________

Romany123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 04:08 AM   #2
Cook
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 61
If you want to fix it yourself...

You can put a dab of anerobic glue called loctite. Loctite comes in different strengths. You probably want to use a weaker one. Or maybe put a lock washer on before the nut. Or in a pinch, a REALLY REALLY SMALL dab of nail polish on the threads AFTER putting on the nut. (drop half on nut, half on thread.) Use the pointed side of a toothpick to apply.
__________________

tropical cooker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 05:33 AM   #3
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Essex, England
Posts: 125
Thanks for that
I did think of loctite, but put of using it as I am sure there must be a better way. There must be thousands and thousands of Kitchen Aids out there, Do they all have the same problem???
The washer Idea is a good one, but there is no head on the screw.
I appreciate your impute.
Romany123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 08:04 AM   #4
Assistant Cook
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Romany123
There must be an answer to this.
On my Kitchen Aid there is a stainless steel rod between the top and bottom half of the the mixer that keeps coming loose. I have to keep inverting the machine and tightening the screw that holds it in place.
What can I do to prevent this from happening?
I need to go look at mine because I am not visualizing this piece. Obviously I have never had your problem or I would know! ;o) Does this rod run vertically or horizontally?
You might call a KA service center and ask them what to do.
Gretchen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 09:11 AM   #5
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Essex, England
Posts: 125
Gretchen
Horizontally
And the screw can only be access by tipping it upside down
Romany123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 09:39 AM   #6
Sous Chef
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Straits of Juan de Fuca
Posts: 893
Have never had that problem Dave, and I hope you have not put a hex on us by telling us about it... ;) (good luck with a solution, tho)
cjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 09:42 AM   #7
Assistant Cook
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,694
Going down to look. What model is yours? If it is what I am thinking about mine sometimes works out a bit--it is free floating, not screwed. anyway, I'll be back.
Gretchen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 10:09 AM   #8
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Essex, England
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjs
Have never had that problem Dave, and I hope you have not put a hex on us by telling us about it... ;) (good luck with a solution, tho)
na wouldent do that to you Jean.

Gretchen

Its a KitchenAid Artisan
Romany123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 10:56 AM   #9
Master Chef
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Metro New York
Posts: 8,763
Send a message via Yahoo to ChefJune
Dave, is your KA one with the bowl that lifts up and down? or the kind that screws into the base? I don't know that I [have that rod on mine! I have the kind that goes up and down... have had it for more than 20 years, and have never had one bit of problem with it. (Knock wood! )
__________________
Wine is the food that completes the meal.
ChefJune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 11:06 AM   #10
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Essex, England
Posts: 125
Hi June

the kind that screws into the base.
If you remember I got it about this time last year
You where right it is an amazing mixer (except for the bar that keeps working loose)
I will probably ring their help line later
Romany123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 12:09 PM   #11
Master Chef
 
bethzaring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 5,144
I have the same problem with the KA. Mine is free floating, has no threads, is just a smooth round bar that moves around. I just keep an eye on it and whack it around if it gets too far out of line. So lock-tite is not a solution for me. Please post a response if you give them a ring.
__________________
Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has. Margaret Mead
bethzaring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 12:13 PM   #12
Assistant Cook
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,694
Well, I took a look and although mine is a lot older than yours I am sure we are talking about the same thing. This is a piece of metal about 1/2" in diameter (maybe not quite that big) with smooth ends--right? I turned mine over and indeed there is a screw in there that I have never touched nor knew was there for the 40 years I have had this!!
Mine will wiggle out a bit from time to time but I have always just bonked it back in with a hammer! You can lift up a bit on the mixer head to take some of the weight off of it when you "bonk" it, if you want.
If this is what you are talking about I honestly do not think it is a problem--or I can say, I have never considered it to be a problem. ;o)
Gretchen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 12:16 PM   #13
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 46,108
Now I have a sudden urge to go turn my KA mixer upside down.
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 12:21 PM   #14
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Essex, England
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy M.
Now I have a sudden urge to go turn my KA mixer upside down.
hahah
I can see you all heading for the kitchen to turn your KA's on their heads.

Yes it is that screw, I tighten it up and it lasts about a week before it starts to come loose again. As I use it every day for making bread it becomes a nuisance
Romany123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 12:54 PM   #15
Master Chef
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Metro New York
Posts: 8,763
Send a message via Yahoo to ChefJune
You shouldn't need to do that, Dave... I'd ask them to replace the whole kit and kaboodle!
__________________
Wine is the food that completes the meal.
ChefJune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 01:01 PM   #16
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Essex, England
Posts: 125
I think you might be right June, I will give them a ring in the morning.
Got to go C will be home in a minute
Romany123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 02:11 PM   #17
Head Chef
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,038
I have had a Kitchen Aid for a number of years and so far nothing like that has heppened to mine.

Good luck.
__________________

Jill and Jolie
shpj4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 02:25 PM   #18
Head Chef
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,984
Quote:
Originally Posted by Romany123
hahah
I can see you all heading for the kitchen to turn your KA's on their heads.
Will someone please snap apic of this piece and post it? I am at work and cannot get to my mixer!
vagriller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2006, 05:18 AM   #19
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Essex, England
Posts: 125
Vag
That bad hu.

June I had a word with KA this morning, and they said they would take it back and fix it. I just need to get the paperwork together.
Trouble is, you know what we have been doing here at "Shambles" it is just a case of finding the right box
Romany123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2006, 12:58 PM   #20
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 470
I thought I had the only KA that does that. The rod comes loose alot and I am always checking on it and putting it back in. What will they do to fix it, and do you have to mail it back to them?
__________________

carolelaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
×