La Cloche Clay Round and Oblong Bakers

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

PieSusan

Washing Up
See. La Cloche Clay Baker - Round

and

La Cloche Clay Baker - Round

Toots, I need help, I desire to buy these two baking pans. I am presently trying to talk myself into the round one, first. Winter is the best time for bread baking. I like to be cozy in the kitchen and bake away but I have done well with the stone and steam and I don't really know if this is that necessary and I fear breakage.

If I were to ask JoeV, he would say, "go for it!"

Hmmm, what to do, what to do....maybe I will see if the price comes down some more.

Oh why, oh why did I start looking at bakeware?!!! lol

Susan,

I've been using the oblong La Cloche for a few months now and I find that the performance of a no-knead loaf is really close to when I use either my magnalite or scan pan dutch ovens. When baking a more conventional hand-shapped loaf using quarry tiles and steam I get a deeper brown crust at a lower temp, the La Cloche is lighter in color, more golden. I find using the La Cloche is a bit more convenient especially because of the oblong shape.

Concerning the fragility of the La Cloche, I don't mistreat it, but handle it like any other dish and haven't had any issues at all.

If you are considering both bakers, you may want to get them at the same time and save on shipping. When I got mine, had I been able to figure out where to store two of them, the shipping price was the same for two as one.