Old cast iron skillet ain't flat no more?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Zeasor

Assistant Cook
I now have Mom's old, large cast iron skillet with a concave bottom. Oil tends to run toward the middle of the skillet. Does anyone know how to flatten the bottom without going to a blacksmith? I would like to use it for more that baking cornbread:)

Wow, Zeasor, that's a new on on me. I have no idea how to correct the problem, although there are probably folks on this board who have an answer. Uncle Bob comes to mind first. Good luck on your quest for a solution.

yikes, is that what they call 'warped'? I don't think you can fix that....but I'm new to cast iron.

I'm surprised cast iron can warp like that and I'd be surprised if it could be corrected. But there are others who know more about CI than I.

Uncle Bob said:
Zeasor...

The pan is concave inside the pan. (Oil runs to the middle) Underneath is the bottom convex?? Or is it flat? ???

The bottom is concave looking inside the pan and convex looking underneath as if Mom whacked someone over the head with the inside of the pan:LOL: She was never arrested for homicide with a skillet so I doubt that is the cause. Because of the symmetry I suspect the pan warped. Does anyone know a blacksmith in north Texas?:wacko:

Zeasor....