Question about cast-iron pan

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sarah

Head Chef
well i just bought this large cast iron pan from walmart,it looked good and i really needed a pan which i could use both on the stove and in the oven....the thing, is the instructions that came with it,were not to wash it with soap or detergent,instead it should just be washed with hot water and a brush,it said.Why cant i use soap?does it reduce its life actually ,i mean do i have to follow those instructions? i've never used a cast iron pan before ,so guide me!!!:)

It will cause the pan to rust. Then you will have to re-season it.

Lodge

Hi Sara,

I know someone will post a link (I have it at home, but I'm stuck here at work), but you really don't want to use soap on a cast iron pan.

What happens is that over time, the pan builds a layer of seasoninng (That smooth, almost shiny black finish the really good ones have) that both protects the pan, and makes it virtually non-stick.

A quick google of "Care and Seasoning of Cast Iron" should get you a bunch of helpful sites.

EDIT: Lookie there! Rainee posted a link while I was typing!!:mrgreen:

John

Last edited:
you can use soap and water, but only briefly. as soon as you wash out the pan, put it back on a burner to heat it up to completely dry it.

this method will wear out the seasoning eventually, so you will have to re-season your cast iron pan periodically. stop using it immediately if you see a little orange on a paper towel when wiping it out after washing it.
make sure you season the entire thing; inside, outside and the handle. whatever doesn't get coated will rust. put a cookie sheet or aluminum foil on the shelf below in the oven to catch any drippings when seasoning the outsides of the pan.