Stovetop cooking with Pyrex Visions cookware?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

anchita

Assistant Cook
Hi Everyone!

I'm a newbie here, and came across this site searching the web for some info about Pyrex cookware. There seem to be some really enthusiastic and knowledgeable people around, which led me to believe I could possibly get some guidance concerning my problem here. Can anyone tell me if one can actually use the Pyrex (Amber) Visions line of cookware on the stovetop? I've seen this claimed at many places, especially the ones that are selling them on auction etc., but I find it hard to swallow that glassware such as pyrex can be used on the stovetop. Is their a chemical difference between the usual pyrex stuff and its Visions line that allows the latter to be used on the stovetop? And are there only certain types of stovetops that it can be used on? Does one have to follow a special heating/cooking technique and precautions while using this type of cookware on the stove? I'm really tempted to use this cookware for my stovetop cooking needs, but having no experience with it, I'd appreciate if you can share your experience and knowledge about this with me. I have an electric stove and the only pyrex I've used before is for storage and some baking.

Thanks for your time,
Anchita

Anchita, that is all I use. I love my visions and use it everywhere. As long as you don't drop it on a ceramic tile floor it is darned near indestructible. One caution though, you need to get used to cooking differently with these. They REALLY retain the heat. You will need to use a lower setting for EVERYTHING you make. I hope you enjoy them, I love mine.