Tin or stainless steel lined?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

chok120

Assistant Cook
Hi

I am a beginner cook and would like to invest in some copperware. I've seen tin and stainless steel lined cookware in the Mauviel range. Which is better?

Thanks

Yash

The SS requires less care and will last longer. The tin wears off and re-tinning is an expensive proposition.

Do both SS and tin need to be greased before or after cooking? Or is it just a case of wash and dry?

I like the tin lining for some sauteing and for sauce pans etc. It cooks well, naturally darkens, etc. With care it lasts and retinning is not a problem. However, for HOT pan work, tin melts at 460F so I always have some stainless lined copper for that cooking, be it in the oven or the stove top. THe stainless costs more now, and depending on how you cook may save you money. It certainly is "worry free".

SS lined copper

I started out years ago with tin lined but when I had a chance to use the SS lined it was all over for me. I once left a tin lined on the stove and forgot it. You know the results. I found a place in Penn. that retinned it but the job they did was quite poor.

Btw, I use a rust remover solution from Home Depot (Zep brand) twice a year to get the oxidation off the copper. This process couldn't be simpler, just wipe and rinse and the copper is as new.

If it is a choice, then for me it is SS and only SS.

George

Chok120,