"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Cookware
Click Here to Login

Old 01-30-2020, 07:07 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Post What are your bread storage issues???

Hi, I'm a student trying to do some more research into the market of bread storage and developing a new bread storage product. It would be great if I could get some of your issues to do with storage, food lasting or even the tiniest of annoyances so I could make my product the best it can be. Thanks

BoltonSix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2020, 10:47 AM   #2
Certified Pretend Chef

Our bread comes in a plastic bag. We store it in that bag for a few days then it goes into the freezer. We take out slices as we need them and either toast it or revive it in the microwave wrapped in a damp paper towel.

Old 01-30-2020, 10:52 AM   #3
Sous Chef

it needs to last longer.
when I bake a loaf, come back later, half of it is gone.
dcSaute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2020, 10:56 AM   #4
Senior Cook

Andy... if you want perfect bread from the freezer, wrap each slice tightly in cling wrap and thaw at room temperature.

I think you will be amazed at the results.
ScottinPollock is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2020, 11:18 AM   #5
Certified Pretend Chef

Scott, that takes too long and takes forethought. Wrap two slices of frozen bread in a damp (not wet) paper towel and nuke for 20-30 seconds. Perfect.
Old 01-30-2020, 11:33 AM   #6
Chef Extraordinaire

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottinPollock View Post
Andy... if you want perfect bread from the freezer, wrap each slice tightly in cling wrap and thaw at room temperature.

I think you will be amazed at the results.
I find my homemade bread is fine right out of the freezer and into the toaster oven. I slice and store in a freezer zipper-top bag. Wrapping slices individually is unnecessary and wasteful.
Old 01-30-2020, 01:06 PM   #7
Sous Chef

Quote: