Which pans to pick?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Phantom of the Kitchen

Assistant Cook
Well I think this would be a really nice beginner thread and since I'm a beginner, I'll ask it.

What pots and pans and materials of pots and pans should your NEVER used to cook what?

Everyone says to cook up tomato sauce only in a non-reactive pan; why? Which ones are non-reactive? What should I never cook in my non-stick pan?

I'm just looking for things that I should avoid beyond all others in order to keep my pans in good shape and my food tasting decent.

I would ask what I should use to cook what in order to achieve best results but this is already a pretty broad question.

brad

Last edited:
Other than acidic foods in a reactive pan, I think the better way to ask this question would be What pans are best used with which foods. The reason I say that is that with the exception of acidic foods with reactive pans any food can pretty much be cooked in any pan. Some will just provide better results.

For instance you can cook chicken breasts in a non stick pan. They will come out just fine. they will not brown as much as if you used a stainless steel pan or cast iron though and often times browning is what you want.

With acidic foods like tomatoes and citrus you need to be careful with reactive pans like cast iron. If you have a good seasoning on your pan then it is not as much of a concern, but if you don't have a good seasoning then you will have a metallic taste to your food. The longer the food is in contact with the pan the stronger that taste will be. A few short minutes probably won't matter much, but you would not want to make a slow cooking tomato sauce in cast iron probably.