1st Chef's Knife - Advice?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TripleB

Assistant Cook
I'm 43 years old and have finally decided (after watching the Food Network for about a year and a half) that it's time for me to learn how to actually cook something.

I apologize for these questions, but the only way I know to learn is to ask the experts.

1) Should a Chef's Knife be the first knife I purchase?

2) What length should I purchase?

3) I don't want to put a lot of money into a chef's knife but don't want something that will fall apart or go dull after a week. Can I get a quality chef's knife for under $30? (some brands I've seen for around that price are: Victorinox, Oxo, JA Henckels, Chicago Cutlery, Furi Rachel Rays, Rada, etc.)

4) What chef's knife would you recommend in that price range (remember, I'm a newbie and will never be a professional)?

5) Am I better off getting a single chef's knife or something like a Ginsu 14 piece stainless steel set with a block (that includes a chef's knife) for $60 or so?

6) What other advice would you give someone just starting out as far as required 'hardware'?

I will only be cooking for my family of 4 and family gatherings.

Thank you for your help.

TripleB

Probably the 2 most used knives are the chef's knife and the paring knife. I have 1 chef's knife and 2 paring knives. I just got my chef's knife a couple months ago and got a 7" Victorinox. It's my only experience with a chef's knife but so far I like it. The paring knives I have are cheap but I don't have a problem replacing them every so often.