Beginner's Knife Set

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

wannabgourmet

Assistant Cook
Hi there everyone, I'm very new to DC so please excuse this post if it's a duplicate.

What would you recommend for a good beginner's knife set? I'd be looking to spend around $40-60 but am not very experienced when it comes to brand names or what to look for. Thanks!

First of all, don't buy a set. You only need about two or three knives to get the job done. Go to a knife shop or kitchen store and handle knives. Get the feel and decide which is most comfortable in your hand.

Read earlier posts in this forum (knives) for some great low cost suggestions.

Andy’s right, you don’t need a whole set to start with. Heck, I’ve got a full set, and I only use one knife from it regularly which is the Chef’s Knife.

The paring knife get’s it’s fair share of use.

So, to start I’d suggest buying a good Chef’s Knife and perhaps a paring knife. Also, get some steel (a steel rod that you use to hone, not sharpen, your blade).

Also valuable to begin with is a good set of kitchen shears and a utility knife. The shears should be fairly heavy as you will want to cut through small bones for things like butterflying a whole chicken. Separating whole chicken wings is also easily done with sheers.

Personally, I have an inexpensive Ginsu type knife (got it from some guy doing a demo at Sam's) that I use for tough utility type jobs like cutting milk jugs, chicken backs, frozen food, etc.

Of course, you’ll be faced with where to store them, so you’ll want to consider a block. Also, a set of steak knives are a must.

Chicago Cutlery is a fairly inexpensive brand with good quality, just make sure you don’t by the lowest end of knives they offer. Look for full tang blades and thick steel in the handles.