Do I need a 7" knife?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ElectricPotato

Assistant Cook
I've recently started getting into serious cooking.
I love home cooked meals but my wife prefers take-out over cooking so it's become a necessity for me to get into the kitchen.
As timing would have it, last month's GQ magazine had an interesting article:
GQ Cooks: Eat + Drink: GQ

Regarding kitchen basics. One thing that caught my eye was their recommendation of a Wusthof Santoku knife. It looks like my choices are a 5" and 7".
I would think the 5" would be more useful, but at a hundred bucks a pop, I'd like to make sure I get one that wouldn't limit me.

So, the question is - is a 7" knife more useful than a 5"? Will I tend to reach for a 5" more if given the choice? Or will the 7" cover my needs for everything?

I'm not experienced with that style of knife, but with a traditional chef's knife, I find an eight inch knife to be infinitely more usable than a ten inch. In the end, it's all about what you're comfortable with.

I looked through the 10 tips you linked and didn't see anything about a knife.

Anyway, why do you think you need a santoku? What do you have for other knives? I have two chef's knives - a 6" and an 8" and no santokus.

I looked through the 10 tips you linked and didn't see anything about a knife.

Anyway, why do you think you need a santoku? What do you have for other knives? I have two chef's knives - a 6" and an 8" and no santokus.
Hmm...I guess the bit about the knife was just in the print magazine.
Under the heading "The Five Tools You'll Need Constantly" they list a fish spatula, metal tongs, microplane grater, metal whisk and finally, a Santoku knife. "Knifemaker Wusthof's best seller in the company's history. Good for every task in the kitchen," it says.