Global Knives Questions?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Peluso81

Assistant Cook
Hello, this is my first time posting herealthough I have been reading alot of info here for awhile now. I have a few questions about Global knives. A few weeks ago was my fiancee's bridal shower and we got the 3 Global knives I had picked out, the oriental chef's, santoku, and paring. Although I am not a professional chef, I like to consider myself an excellent cook and know my way around the kitchen really well and I kind of also have a fetish for gourmet kitchen appliances.

Anyway, I noticed that the blades on the Global's are much sharper than the blades of my Wusthof Classic's and are alot thinner as well, and I also noticed that this evening when I was chopping fresh parsley with the santoku I was hearing what sounded like a snapping sound, and after I cleaned off the blade it looked like the blade bent alittle near the bottom. Now do any of you think that would happen due to the thinness of the blade or do you think that can be steeled and go back to normal? Also, I've read and heard different people saying that the Global's are single beveled and then others saying that they are double beveled like Wusthof's are, and I can't get a real answer out of anyone as to which way they are beveled. So does anyone know?

Oh and one other question. How do any of you sharpen your Global's? Do you use a steel sharpening steel or a ceramic steel, and if they are single beveled, would you only steel it on a certain side? Just curious because I was thinking of returing this knife if I didn't throw out the box it came in because of what happened. Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.