Honing questions...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

suziquzie

Chef Extraordinaire
First off, I'm no knife expert nor care to be...
I have a set of Henkels I love.
I'm using an old hone from my gramma. Cheapie I'm sure.
Do they go dull? It works, I think its 40 years old.

Also, how often should I be honing? Dh says every use. My brother has the same knives and I can get cut just looking at his....

Does the hone go dull? No. You can use it forever.

DH is right. You should use it before every time you use your knives for optimum performance. It is not the end of the world if you do not, but it is an easy and quick thing to help maintain your edges.

Oh man GB, really, did you have to tell me he was right AGAIN?!?!?!

I figured he was right anyway, it's his weekend to be and he's on a roll......

First off, I'm no knife expert nor care to be...
I have a set of Henkels I love.
I'm using an old hone from my gramma. Cheapie I'm sure.
Do they go dull? It works, I think its 40 years old.

Also, how often should I be honing? Dh says every use. My brother has the same knives and I can get cut just looking at his....

Assuming your steel (hone) is a grooved steel steel (repitition required): You said "Do they go dull?" Are you asking about the knives or did you mean the singular referring to the steel itself? If it is the steel, it won't dull for a long long time. It is nothing more than a highly hardened file - those grooves you know. The steel is much harder than your knives. You hone or sharpen when the knives fail to cut as you require. That's it. :rolleyes:

yup I meant does the hone go dull or lose its sharpening ability.

I also have learned to sharpen before each use, and I am happier with the results when I do. But I have Chicago Cutlery, not Henkels. Would love to have a set of them, not that the Chicago Cutlery is bad, they are good for the price.