ISO comments/advice on 10" chef's knife

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sheri527

Assistant Cook
Hello everyone I'm a second year culinary student working in a restaurant. My first knife was a 9" but now that I'm getting some experience I bought a 10" shun. It feels kind of big right now, is it worth getting used to?? Not sure if this matters but I'm a small girl 5"3 with small boyish hands.. Lol. I hear most chefs use a 10" in kitchens.

Hi Sheri,

I'm an avid home cook, and I also own a 10 inch Shun knife. I'm by no means a big guy either. I really like my Shun. It did take some getting used to, but for me, it was worth it. There are still tasks that I return to my 8 inch knives (I find the smaller blade to be quicker on some tasks).

I'm sure others will chime in with their experience as well...

Cheers,

Welcome to the site. The right size knife for you will be the one that feels most comfortable to you. It does not matter what most other chefs use. Think of it like buying shoes. If everyone else wears a size 13, you still need to get the size that fits you.

I started with a 10" and liked it a lot, but at times found it a little too big for me. I went down to a smaller knife and liked it much better. There are still times I reach for the 10" like when I am cutting watermelon or something large like that, but for most tasks I find the 10" a hair too big for me now.

I agree. The right size knife for you is the one that feels best for you. I would suggest, however, that you give the large knife a try for a few days.,

I'm 6'2" and have normal sized hands. I use an 8" chef's knife and I'm quite happy with it. I also received a 6" chef's knife as a gift and use that happily as well.

How many times do I have to tell you people, size doesn't matter?! :mrgreen: