ISO knife & sharpener recommendation for beginner

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Turando

Cook
Hi,

I'm looking to buy my first good knife and so far am leaning towards

- Wusthof Grand Prix 8" Cooks Knife (does anyone know the difference b/w the Grand Prix and the Classic range)? This is about $55 at Amazon.
- Lansky Knife Sharpening System (not sure which one to get). I want to have some kind of sharpening system that is good and also easy to use as I'm not very good at sharpening things but if there is a good option I could get my husband to do it instead :) Is there another option for sharpening that I have missed? The Lansky was mentioned a few times in previous threads so I just assumed it would be the best option. How often does aperson need to sharpen the knife?

The other thing I'm confused about is the 'steel' people mention to use every time. Is the steel and the sharpening system two different things? What steel would you recommend for the above knife?

Any help would be appreciated. My budget is about $100 for a good overall knife and a sharpening system (though if needed I could go over). Later on I can add more knives on.

Thankyou!

Last edited:
Hi, Turando. Welcome back.

The Grand Prix line is highly regarded.

I use the Lansky system and I am very pleased with the results. I use this product. It takes a lot of the guesswork out of the sharpening process.

The steel is used, not to sharpen, but to maintain the knife edge between sharpenings. It re-aligns the edge of the knife and should be employed after every use.

while the wusthof if a great knife
as a chef trying to teach apprentices, i always suggest a forschner aka victorinox

while not as glamorous as the wusthof, it is much more utilitarian and less expensive
good qualities while learning to use a knife and sharpener