Kitchen Aid Santoku

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

EEstrada

Assistant Cook
I'm really tempted on buying a 7'' Sontaku by kitchen aid from target. I'm a starter, and I will be taking some food handling courses for my dietetics program. Since I am a full time student I cannot afford a really good blade. I like the feel on my hand, not extremely light, but not heavy as well. Seems to be sharp by the touch, but I want some feedback. I wish I could afford a kershaw, but that is way outta my league at the moment. Thanx for any feedback.

http://www.target.com/gp/detail.html/sr=2-3/qid=1124149774/ref=sr_2_3/601-8447330-0406526?%5Fencoding=UTF8&asin=B0007GDNL0

Last edited:
A friend of mine just bought the very same thing at Kohl's and he loves it. The important thing about a knife you've already done and that is see if it is comfortable in your hand. Also, a person can take a cheap set of knives and keep them properly sharpened, no dishwasher, washed and dried right away, and get by for many years. Put a few dollars away every week for your knife fund.

My first set of knives was a Chicago Cutlery set with a block for $99. They were great (still have them) and I learned on them. As Elf said, keep them sharp and the will serve you well.

It doesn't have to be the most expensive knife to be a good performer.

Andy, I may have bought the same set as you. I got rid of the block when I moved into a really tiny apartment. I still have every knife, except the paring knife. Don't know where that one went. I've "retired" some of my professional knives, and brought them home. One of those is my F. Dick 8" chef's knife. However, PeppA prefers to use the Chicago Cutlery chef's knife. Go figure...

Allen: