Paring Knife or Set - Which One (last knife post for a while)?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TripleB

Assistant Cook
First let me apologize for all my posts on knives...being new to cooking (even though I'm 43) I have a lot of questions. I hope you understand.

I'm going to order an 8" Chef's knife (my first 'real' cooking knife ever :clap: ) tomorrow and want to order a paring knife or set when I do. Since I'm just learning to cook, and have a minute amount of funds to work with after receiving my post-Christmas credit card bill, I want something very cheap but decent.

Here are my four options:

1) J.A. Henckels International 3 piece set for $11 http://www.amazon.com/Henckels-Inter...=3MKPTD4TB6A20

2) Victorninox Cutlery 3 Piece Paring Knife Set, Poly Handles for $13 http://www.amazon.com/Victorinox-480...=3MKPTD4TB6A20

3) Victorinox 3 1/4" Paring Knife - the handle looks a bit larger on this one than on the ones that come in the set above and the blade is stamped with 'Victorinox' http://www.amazon.com/Victorinox-480...=3MKPTD4TB6A20

4) Kuhn Rikon Paring Knife - which seems to get excellent reviews http://www.amazon.com/Kuhn-Rikon-Paring-Nonstick-Orange/dp/B000I1WXUG/ref=wl_it_dp_o?ie=UTF8&coliid=I3DI7WZMKY9X54&colid=3MKPTD4TB6A20

Thank you again for your patience and your help. I'll try to make this my last knife post for a good while!!!

TripleB

The only real reason you need more than one paring knife is if one is dirty and you don't want to take the time to wash it.

I'd go with the best single paring knife you can afford. I prefer a 4" to a 3".

The only real reason you need more than one paring knife is if one is dirty and you don't want to take the time to wash it.

I'd go with the best single paring knife you can afford. I prefer a 4" to a 3".

It's also handy to have a second one when two people are cooking at the same time ;)