What set is best for me?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kyle0k

Assistant Cook
Hi,
I am moving into a new place and am currently looking for a set of knives.

I currently use my roommates cutco knives and they are more then enough. I really love the lifetime warranty feature, but overall they are still just overpriced.I My GF likes to cook but has never cooked professionally and has no inclination towards any specific knives. I worked as a chef at maggianos for over a year and i like to cook at home, but I do not need anything fancy. I have never found a significant(experience changing) difference between expensive knives and 10 dollar ones. Yes I will save .001 seconds in cutting, but as I am no professional I do not mind :ROFLMAO:

I need a set that under $100 dollars or so, and has all the basic knives including multiple steak knives. After alot of research I have found:

Henckels® International EverEdge™ Plus 17pc Block Set

These are a pretty good brand and seem to be the best bang for the buck that I have found. The only complain I have found from them is some people say rust spots occur after a little while, but I believe that is from putting them in the dishwasher. Is that correct? I dont use the dishwasher anyways so thats ok.

Any feedback on that set, or alternatives would be great. I tried to describe my attitude and needs as best as possible, but would be glad to answer any further questions. If you suggest any alternatives, please give me a link or a full name and not just a brand. I am not too knowledgable in this field so me searching a brand name bring up a huge array of results.

Last edited: