Why isn't this getting sharp?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GB

Chief Eating Officer
I use a Lansky Crock Stick sharpener (4 rod version). I just sharpened my Wustoff Santoku the other night. I did about 15-20 passes on the medium and then about the same on the fine. I tested it by slicing through some paper and it went through like butter. The next time I used the knife was on some tomatoes from my garden. It would not cut through the skin except at the very back (heel?) of the knife. Once the skin was pierces it cut great though. Any ideas why this is happening and what I can do (until I talk the wife into letting me buy the Edge Pro Apex system)?

If it really needed sharpening, 15-20 passes may not have been enough. Did you use a steel after sharpening?

Let me say first and foremost I'm no knife expert and not even a knife dummy - I'm below dummy!

Tomatoes are odd little creatures. They succumb to serrated blades the best. The skin may look soft, but, I have learned otherwise. Did you try the knife on anything else GB?

I agree with K-elf.

Even very sharp knives have trouble with tomatoes, in my experience.

Except Chef Tony's knives, that is :LOL:

Andy the instructions (if I am remembering correctly) said about 10 passes with each is usually enough.

I did use a steel after sharpening (and before each use anyway) as well.

When these knives were new they would cut through tomato skin like it was not even there so I know they are capable of being that sharp. The heel is still that sharp as that goes through with no resistance at all.

If this is the first time sharpening the knife, you may have sharpened at a different angle from the original. That may require a longer process to establish the new angle.

I know what you mean about cutting through tomato skin like it wasn't there. I just sharpened my knives and they slide right trough.