Canning Old Vegetables

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BunnyTime

Assistant Cook
A couple times a month I get about 60 pounds of old fruits and vegetables. This is produce that isn't suitable to sell in stores because it is bruised or has bad spots, so is sold in bulk just as-is. Mostly it is tomatoes, but there are also always some yellow squashes, zucchinis and bell peppers.

I make a spicy tomato soup out of it by just boiling all of these vegetables (after I've cut out the bad parts) with broth and enough green chiles to make it yummy, then blending it until it's smooth. Serve it with cheese and tortilla chips on top. I always freeze it because there is a lot of it, but it uses so much of my freezer space!

I would like to can it. I am new to canning and everything I've read always starts by saying I should pick out fresh and delicious veg to can in order to make it best. Obviously I am not doing that!

Is it ok to can up these old vegetables? Also I'm very scared to can this because it isn't a recipe that I'm following that tells me exactly what to do. Should I just follow the processing directions from any tomato soup recipe I find? I'm very nervous and any help will be much appreciated!

Last edited:
Welcome to DC!

Since you are cooking the vegetables after trimming, I don't think the age of the veg will affect anything. Any tomato soup canning recipe will work for you.

In the old days, the ugly vegs with spot and dents went for canning, pickles, chutneys, jam and sum such. The fine vegs went for storage or the table. So long as the vegs and fruit is firm, you can remove bad spot, not mold and dont use green potatoes , they cant be used at all.

Hi and welcome to Discuss Cooking [emoji2]