ISO Your Favorite Tomato Sauce Recipe (TNT)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Saphellae

Head Chef
I'm looking for everyone's favorite tomato sauce recipe for canning. I just have a basic one (tomatoes and citric acid/lemon juice). I bought a bushel of tomatoes and they are ripening... great deal on them too, $20 dollars!

Hey, Buttercup!:LOL::LOL:

I have what you are looking for and it's a sauce I've been making for well over 10 years.

Check out my original post here. I prefer to make it using Roma tomatoes, but other tomatoes will work well. After making my first batch of this, I quit buying/using any commercially-canned tomato sauce. It's sooooo yummy, even if I say so myself.

I just finished canning 10 jars of this sauce and can't wait to make more.

Looks awesome Katie!! I was actually hoping one of them would be oven roasted :) :) :)
The US site on canning says you should process tomato sauce for 35 ish minutes - but yours is only15?
Also I have lemon juice / citric acid - should I be using that with your recipe.

OMG I have a whole bushel of tomatoes, I'm going to be roasting all day ! LOL!

Last edited:
No, I'd leave the lemon juice/citric acid out. You'll love the sauce. It's awesome for any recipe that asks for tomato sauce. I haven't bought commercially-canned tomato sauce in years because of it. It's also great as a simple pasta sauce.

Have fun.

I hope you guys don't mind me linking off the forum, but I posted a recipe for the simplest but still super delicious tomato sauce I know how to make on my blog.

It's not a spectacular recipe but it's super easy and turns out great.

Basic Homemade Pasta Sauce

This is my favourite recipe.

2 pounds of tomatoes chopped ( I leave skins on but remove if you prefer )
2 tsp of paprika
2 tsp of kosher salt
1 tsp of dried thyme
1 tbs of lemon juice