Rhubarb Jam does not set using agar agar.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

andrew_ysk

Assistant Cook
Hii, i'm a beginner in need for guidance.

I usually made jam using :chef: gelatine, but later after i found out that gelatine is animal based :pig:, i then switched to agar agar:yum:.

this time, i used agar agar (quantity) more then the recommended, yet my jam didn't set at all, it is just liquidiy as water.

apple cider acid that i added in, only 12 tbsp:
w9hy.jpg
[
http://img203.imageshack.us/img203/860/w9hy.jpg
agar agar packaging (front):

nv76.jpg

http://img21.imageshack.us/img21/9051/nv76.jpg
agar agar packaging (back):
b2zj.jpg

*it is stated there 1 pack = 10g, => fit for use of 500g of liquid.

what's wrong ?
this is how i do it.
i poured in 1kg of brown sugar and 400ml of orange juice (for taste, blindly follow recipe of other), and 12 tbsp of apple acid (for taste).
used small fire to warm it up till small boil, then added in 8 (80g) small pack of agar agar (at around boiling temperature) and stirred and leave it for over 30 minutes of boiling.
the mixture seems to be very very thick.
look at this photo :
8xsj.jpg

http://img32.imageshack.us/img32/2861/8xsj.jpg
* the liquid is not freeze due to camera, but rather due to agar agar effect. *

then seeing the result, i pour the mixture (430 ml orange juice, 1.25kg brown sugar, 12 tbsp apple acid, 8 pack of agar agar) into my rhubarb filtered liquid which is also boiling in another pot. ( a little over 3 liters)

fxsq.jpg

so, if i assume total final liquid outcome is 4 liters and 8 packs is enough (according to the instruction on the packaging) [1pack = 10g is enough for 500 ml liquid].

after the mixing them together, i tested the viscosity of the jam, it is a bit liquidy.