Rust in screw-band - is it dangerous?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tabator

Assistant Cook
Hi!

I'm brand new to canning, and I just bought a bunch of Bernardin canning jars that come with standard screw-bands and lids. The packaging said to wash everything before use, so I washed the jars, lids, and screw rings in soapy water and let them air-dry.

The next day, I noticed that a couple of the screw-bands had some rust spots on them. I was able to wash out most of the rust. Some questions:

1) Would getting some of the rust in food be toxic? Should I be worried about health effects from rust? I re-washed everything but who knows, maybe I missed a spot.

2) I understand that rusty lids may not seal properly, but the lids do not appear to be rusty--only the screw-bands. Should I just use new screw-bands with the existing lids? What about the glass jars? Can I wash and use them? Should I just chuck everything out?

Thanks!

I've been canning for a few yrs now but I'm no pro! I would either buy new lids or remove rust with a scouring sponge and warm soapy water. Sometimes this works if the lids are not too far gone. New lids are inexpensive so replacing them is best :) The jars will be fine!
If the bands can be removed soak them in a bleach and hot warm water solution (not hot, this will damage the rubber) then rinse and replace.
I've been using some jars for over 10 yrs and others are new, haven't had a problem so far.
P.S I dry my lids and rubbers with paper toweling to prevent rust. Hope this helps

Last edited:
rust is not toxic. it is iron oxide.

just wipe off the bands and you're good to go. my parents used to use a light wipe of vegetable oil "to keep things from sticking"