Shelf Life Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bcjones2004

Assistant Cook
I am new to canning and just have a quick question about shelf life. I would like to make something called "Monkey Butter" but the person that created the recipe is saying that after canning that you still need to keep it refrigerated. To me the whole reason to can it would be to not have to store it in the fridge. The link to the recipe is below.

Monkey Butter

MONKEY BUTTER
5 medium-size perfectly ripe bananas (no brown spots)
20 oz. can of crushed pineapple – not drained
1/4 cup coconut
3 cups of white sugar
3 Tbsp bottled lemon juice.

Cook, added to jars and water bath for 15 min.

Welcome to DC!
Yep, I'd just keep it in the fridge or freezer and skip the canning, since she said earlier in the recipe that it keeps for 4-6 weeks in the fridge without canning.

Last edited:
Hi and welcome to Discuss Cooking :)

In order to be safe, canning recipes have to be tested and very specific. I would not recommend relying on a random page whose author does not have some sort of credentials establishing authority in this area.

Indeed, GG. And I didn't care for the disclaimer at the end of the recipe (which sounds fun, BTW) that canned or not, you need to store it in the fridge. Why bother canning it? And while I haven't looked, I don't recall seeing a Monkey Butter canning recipe in any reliable source I've seen...

Last edited:
I have not researched canning pineapple but it seems to me that there would be enough acidity and there is certainly enough sugar to make the canning process safe... BUT... that being said, I agree with Dawg & GG. why is there that caveat????

so I would not bother with the water bath. Try one jar as Freezer Jam. Just to see if the banana freezes well. Try Freezer Strawberry Jam and see if you don't swoon with the fresh taste!