Novice question for liquid bread yeast

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

inchrisin

Senior Cook
I have a little experience with yeast because I'm a successful homebrewer. I buy commercial packs of liquid yeast and dried yeast to make batches of beer. I re harvest them and make more beer off the original yeast. I guess you'd call this propagating yeast.

I'm new to making bread. I've recently seen several bread recipes that call for an equivalent of liquid yeast and that piques my curiosity.

I'm at a loss. How do bakers acquire and harvest liquid yeast for bread from batch to batch. I'm used to breaking out an Erlenmeyer flask and buying liquid yeast from a homebrew store. I make beer and skim the yeast from batch to batch. Can you fill in the gaps for me and explain how bakers harvest liquid yeast? Where does it start and how do I propagate healthy yeast from batch to batch of bread?

I've been baking my own bread since Methuselah was a lad but I've never heard of liquid yeast for bread making in the UK. I'll be interested to hear about it from anyone who uses it.

(The nearest I can get to liquid yeast on-line over here is "liquid cream yeast" available for commercial bread makers.)

I've been baking my own bread since Methuselah was a lad but I've never heard of liquid yeast for bread making in the UK. I'll be interested to hear about it from anyone who uses it.

(The nearest I can get to liquid yeast on-line over here is "liquid cream yeast" available for commercial bread makers.)

Vienna Bread / Pain Viennois - The Real Deal Cooking Channel

I nailed this recipe the first time I made it. I've tried 4 times after and I'm failing it. I'm looking to perfect it because it is LIFE ALTERING. It's perfect for any kind of sandwich, if you can wait that long to eat it. Highly recommended if you're willing to put in the effort.