Help - Total Newbie

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jackc20

Assistant Cook
Hello everyone, my name is Jack.

I am totally new to cooking. My one skill is boiling water on the stove to make pasta. I am looking forward to learning how to cook, but it scares me. It seems like a lot of steps. For someone who is just starting to cook what is the best dish to start on, or how did you start cooking? Thank you! :chef:

Welcome Jack!

Andy has it. You can even find a good sauce here. It doesn't have to be complicated, a can of tomatoes, some herbs...

IMHO, aside from baking, the main skill involved in cooking is heat and temperature. To avoid a lot of trial and error, get a couple of good thermometers (a surface read and an internal probe). These will let you verify pan and internal food temps.

Here is a decent chart for proper pan temps..

You can Google things like "beef medium rare temperature" for internal temps for safe and properly cooked proteins.

Selecting the right tool for the right job is also part of this skill set. For precise heat control for things like fish, sauces, and other delicates, you'll want cookware that heats up and cools off fast (stainless or aluminum). But for frying or searing several burgers/steaks/chops you'll want a pan with good heat retention (cast iron).

And one habit to get into to better control your temps is called "Mise en place" which simply means "everything in place"… having your ingredients prepped and measured ahead of time. This allows you to concentrate on the actual cooking when that starts, and you won't be distracted with measuring and prepping the ingredients during the process.

Of course there are other skills and techniques involved, but getting the above right will have you in a place to successfully follow most recipes as written. As for what to start on… what do you like to eat?