New vegetarian, novice in the kitchen. Suggestions appreciated.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I am new to cooking, vegetarianism, and these forums. I'm just new :P. Anyway, I'm a college student who just switched to vegetarianism for a variety of reasons, and am looking for a few pointers as to how to the basis of my every day meal. Basically just how to replace meat as the staple of every meal (I was quite the carnivore prior to my decision to go veggie).

I basically just try to either sub in a non-meat where meat used to be for each meal. Typically mushrooms, cheese, eggs, something like that. I'm concerned, however, as I eggs and cheese aren't the healthiest food you can eat, so I don't think I should be eating tons of those. I am also concerend because as a novice in the cooking world, I often times just end up frying a bunch of incredients in a big pan in oil. That can't be too healthy for me either. A friend suggested switching to a vegetable spray like Pam. Are sprays like that really much healthier than olive/canola oil? And while we're at it, which is the healthier of those two oils? A bio professor says canola oil is the healthiest you can get, my roommate claims it's olive oil. Pro chefs?

Anyway, I suppose I'm just looking for some simple options for me as a vegetarian to cook myself, considering I have limited space, resources (ie ingredients), and funds as a college student. Buying bulk produce seems a good way to go, but it tends to go bad on me before I have a chance to use it all. One thing is for sure, I have got to stop relying on the old egg and bagel sandwhich. That can't be good.

So thank you in advance for your suggestions and I'm looking forward to becoming a regular around these forums.

Take care!

EDIT: