Canning Potatoes- dry?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

PDA1

Assistant Cook
Hello All,

I'm new to pressure canning and canning in particular.

'Just dug up this season's Yukon Gold potatoes and would like to can them. But, DO NOT want to peel them (I'm old enough and will be way beyond what actuaries say my life expectancy is if I have to peel them). No, I don't want to store them as they are now.

The immediate questions;

- Is dry canning an acceptable method for canning potatoes while leaving the skins on?

- How have been your results in doing so?

-Besides salt should I add other ingredients?

What are your ideas concerning these questions?

Thank you,

Peter

Last edited:
Some people on this site can using safe methods, some don't can at all, it is a cooking site and mostly they don't.

Not peeling, not safe.
Dry canning, not safe.
Salt or no salt, doesn't matter.

You might want to search google for 'canning potatoes university extension', this will give you university sites with canning instructions and if you are lucky you'll run across why you need to peel and dry canning is not acceptable/safe.

There are better places to ask these questions. If you are on Facebook join a canning group and ask your questions. This one is a very good one. https://www.facebook.com/groups/115527902373035
There are many other homesteading and canning websites that will cover your questions.

Hi and welcome to Discuss Cooking [emoji2]

What is dry canning?

For instructions on how to safely pressure can potatoes, check out the National Center for Home Food Preservation at nchfp.uga.edu