Dishwasher Fish?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Paint

Senior Cook
Many years ago, I remember watching a cooking programme on TV back in England that had the chef wrapping fish up in a tight foil parcel and then putting it into the dishwasher to cook - the heat of the circulating water & steam cooked the fish to perfection (obviously there was no dishwasher powder or rinse-aid in the machine!!). Anyway, I was just curious as to whether anyone else had heard of - or used - this technique. I occasionally use my dishwasher rinse-cycle to wash large loads of veggies, but I've never tried cooking fish in it before!

Paint.

I have heard of that technique as well. Seems more of a gimmick to me then anything anyone would really do. There are easier ways to cook fish, but it does make for good conversation :chef:

Paint
We might have viewed the same programme!

I've never tried it - but I'm intrigued by your use of the dishwasher to clean large batches of vegetables.... :)

Hmmmmm, the recipe looks interesting, but a little plain (I'm not a big fish fan, so like it 'disguised' with sauces & herbs before I can eat it). I think this has to go on my list of things to do when I'm a 90-year old granny and wearing purple.....:LOL:

Paint.

I remember hearing of it, but also never tried it. Would it reach the temps necessary for safety?

Ishbel said:
Paint

I've never tried it - but I'm intrigued by your use of the dishwasher to clean large batches of vegetables.... :)