New Year (January) weigh in

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Piccolina

Executive Chef
Hi all, (okay big breath, I can do this) this is my first time posting in regards to “weigh ins”, but as there's no time like the present...

I've decided this year to make the most cliché of cliché (lol) resolutions and try to loose some weight and become a bit fitter. Without quite literally writing a novel about my life, I guess that I should point out that there are some things that are “against me” in this quest, but regardless I have faith in myself and am quite good at sticking to things, so perhaps there is a bit of hope for my plan.

What I mean by “against me” is that due to several severe medical conditions I am a bit limited in what I can do physically, and as well there are some foods which I am not able to eat. This point can be both a blessing and a curse, for example it's been years since I've touched soda, alcohol, carbonated drinks, caffeine, and many artificial chemicals/preservatives. As well I almost never have deep fried food (I can only think of one time in the past year) and cook mostly with my one non-stick frying pan (poor thing is sort of banged up though, it feel on the floor once and is now a bit out of shape). The down side is that there are some common every day foods that are off (or almost off) limits to me as well.

But nevertheless I've been eating pretty well for years to help my health issues. I just need to eat even healthier, and limit my intake of sugar. Since the 1st I've changed my diet a bit, and have not eaten any desserts or high fat foods. I've uped my grain and veg intake, and am trying to drink a bit more water. Over all I feel a bit hungry, but also good at the same time.