Center of bread isn't cooking right

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tshemory

Assistant Cook
Hi! I just found this board because I am totally new to bread baking. The problem I am having is that I am using my bread machine to mix my dough, then I put my dough into a bread pan and bake it myself in the oven. The problem is the center isn't cooking right. This has happened countless times! I initially started cooking it at 350 for various times; somewhere around 20 minutes. The outside will be perfectly done, and even the first slice looks done. As I cut closer to the middle I see that it isn't done. I tried cooking the bread longer at 300 degrees but that doesn't work either, although it did improve slightly. No matter what I do the center stays either complelety dough-y or at best, gummy.

I've tried playing around with the recipe and I've even tried bigger loaf pans...nothing seems to work! I'm simply using a basic white bread recipe from my Betty Crocker Best Bread Machine Cookbook which is very much like the recipes in the bread machine manuals that I've had. I don't think what I'm doing is supposed to be very difficult so I'm baffled at why the center won't cook!!!

Any suggestions???

Thanks!!!

Tiffany

Hi welcome to the forum and bread baking!

Are you baking your loaf on a tray or in a tin?

Twenty minutes sounds way too short to me, I'd be shooting for 35 minutes in a moderate hot oven (I'm a celsius girl) and if necessary stick a piece of tin foil on top of the loaf if it's browning too quickly.

The other thing I'd recommend is checking your salt level. Salt can impede both the rising and baking process and cause your loaf to be too soft. Measure and test measure and test.

Bread making is very therapeutic but it can get a little frustrating at times!!!